So the deal has been signed and Kenyans wait with bated breath to see how it will all shake out.

some are lamenting that the deal effectively leaves Kenya without an opposition in parliament. I too have worried about that as was the case with Kanu joining sides with PNU. I”m not too worried about it because I think that the tensions within the government will be enough to serve as effective opposition. Perhaps Kenyans need to rethink the way we structure opposition politics in view of our ethnic politics. Perhaps coalitions and consensus is the way forward for us. Then again perhaps i’m just saying this out of sheer hope and so desperately wanting things to work!

I’m concerned that its not quite clear whether the deal reached yesterday will end in 2012 with the post of the prime minister ending then. Is it that this particular coalition government will disolve then but the post of prime minister and deputy prime ministers will remain?

I really hope that in this state of euphoria they go ahead and pass the non-contentious issues of the Bomas Draft. Why the heck not. It was the prime minister position that was the major sticking point so why not give Kenyans a late New Year’s present by passing the Bomas draft. At a minimum, as a Kenyan woman I really don’t want to have to make a choice to go deliver a baby in Kenya just so I can pass on citizenship to my kid. Yes. its personal like that!

Somewhat related: I wrote this a while back but never posted it so here it is:

There are some who would like to claim that Kenya’s Democracy was a sham and that the ongoing crisis is evidence that democracy never really took root in Kenya.

I couldn’t disagree more!

–CDF: This has been an incredible triumph for home-grown democracy even though I would like to see the process of allocation further democraticed. I’m keen to find out exactly what ODM proposes to change about CDF

–The fact that Kenyans came out to vote in massive numbers, in direct contrast, for example, to what happens in the U.S. where only about 40% of the eligible population even bothers to vote.

–Organizations such as the Kenya Human Rights Commission still function in Kenya. I remember a time when nobody could even investigate such things… A vibrant civil society is critical to democracy and Kenya certainly has not lost that!

