So mzee and I have been talking about getting a second car for a couple of years now.  We’ve been quite unconventional for Californians by sharing the one car since we’ve been married.  Yesterday, almost quite on a whim we ended up buying a new car.  Not any old car, but my dream car!  (I’m trying to convince mzee that he’s quite lucky that my dream car isn’t a pricey merc or beemer!).  I’ve been salivating over the Prius for years and now I’m the proud owner of a 45/48 miles per gallon (aprox 20 km per liter!) powder blue prius!!
my new baby!

my new baby!

I think this is exactly the kind of car that would do really really well in Kenya especially as fuel prices continue to soar.  What are the chances of hybrid technology being introduced there in the form of new cars though?  Pretty darn low according to an industry player I had a chat with when I was there.  In fact it sounded like there were absolutely no plans to go that route.  The only hope is for Kenyans to be able to import used hybrid cars from Europe and Asia where i gather their production and sale is not government subsidized and so prices remain high.  Which is all too unfortunate because with the growing pollution problem, mass adoption of hybrid cars (which i’m sure would happen if Kenyans had access to them) could really make a difference.

