I couldn’t believe my eyes and ears watching Mbeki’s resignation speech on c-span just now!

And then it turns out he is to be replaced by South Africa’s current speaker, a woman!  Even though it will be an interim placement, i’m thrilled for Africa to have its second woman president!

From the bits i’ve just been reading it seems like South Africans aren’t too sad to be rid of Mbeki. I wonder though, how Mama Mbete will fare considering her past issues with apparently getting a fake driver’s license……

Then of course Zuma will step into the post shortly and I must admit to be a bit nervous about him and the implications of his leadership for South Africa and Africa as a whole.  I mean the guy thinks a cold shower will take care of HIV infection after you rape a HIV infected lesbian. (WTF?!!!)

so much to go read up on.

